#100WCGU #155 – loss

This week, the prompt for the 100 word challenge was ‘…as time passes…’

***

I sit and wait in our favourite spot, hoping that you’ll walk by. Sometimes, I think I catch you out of the corner of my eye, then the movement continues and I realise it isn’t you.
As time passes I realise I’m crazy, you aren’t coming back, and you didn’t take me with you.
The sun goes down, it gets chilly. I turn, one last time, looking for you. It’s futile.
I stand to leave, and catch sight of your smile. It’s just the photograph on your memorial stone. It’s you, but it’s not you.
I’ll be back tomorrow.

5 Comments

Filed under Other than school

5 responses to “#100WCGU #155 – loss

  1. So sad in retrospect, but a great read. ❤ ❤

    Like

  2. So beautifully sad! Heart aches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

