week 8 – exhausted!

So, my final week of my first half term as KS5 manager was long and exciting, but did I need the holiday at the end!

I am immensely grateful that I work with such a healthy bunch of staff, very little cover to organise this half term which makes life easier all round.

Monday was a normal teaching day, apart from trying to work out which of the two interviews I had on Wednesday I would attend…in the end my HT agreed to move mine to Thursday.

Tuesday I was teaching in the morning, we had quite a nice time in the swimming pool and English lessons run themselves, my TAs are so efficient. In the afternoon I went across to our local MLD school to do some outreach work with their Science Teacher who is not doing so well. It was right back to my AST days and I really enjoyed it. The lesson was chaotic, but with a few tweaks in terms of introducing small demos and practicals I think that the majority of them learned something about the composition of air. Crazy day, then back to my school for SLT meeting, this week we were completing the school calendar (better late than never!), having a look at appraisals and finding out a bit more about what OFSTED  might expect to see from a SLD school.

The first of the two interviews was on Wednesday, at the MLD school. I know a few people there from various staff trainings and visits over the years and so it wasn’t too daunting to start with. I taught a KS3 Science lesson on dissolving. The TA was new to the class, and clearly not very confident in Science either. I was aware that how I managed the TA was part of the observation, but she was not very responsive…and wasn’t listening how to do the dissolving sugar experiment. I’ve never seen anyone add the water to the sugar before! Still…then I had a written task to do, prioritising a list of occurrences and then two longer answers ‘What would you do if….’. These were clearly written for me as I’ve had to tackle both scenarios this half term! Finally, the interview. There was supposed to be two hours between the written task and the interview, but as one of the candidates did not turn up I got to go in earlier. I am never very good at selling myself or giving particularly long answers, but one of the interviewers was involved in setting up the AST scheme all those years ago and so we were able to have quite a chat about what I did in that role.  I was still finished well within the allotted time, and convinced that I hadn’t given good enough answers. There were still others to be interviewed, so home I went and an hour later received a call offering me the AHT (Inclusion) post. So very happy at this. I’ve learnt a lot at my current school, but I’ve also realised that I can’t change the things that need changing and so it’s time to move on.

Wednesday evening was Parent’s Evening and to be honest I felt like a spare part. I haven’t had the chance to meet many of my parents yet, and it was a bit awkward to be asking who all these adults were! The news of my new job had beaten  me back to school and I spent the evening being hit for leaving and then hugged. Confusing.

Thursday was three more Annual Reviews and SLT meeting followed by INSET. I shalln’t miss Thursdays, they are draining.

Friday I taught. Well, I was meant to, I’d planned to, but the head of the KS (I’m teaching out of my KS just to make things interesting) decided in the morning meeting that the day was to be put over to carving pumpkins. Yes, it was nice to be asked (or even told by the person I share my office with….)

And how tired was I on Friday evening? I honestly could have curled up and gone to sleep forever. But, half a term of  management is done, and in 7 weeks I get to move to another new job….

1 Comment

Filed under School, Staff

One response to “week 8 – exhausted!

  1. Pingback: 12 things… | speciallyteaching

Leave a Reply

