Using an ipad in SEN

Today my class have had the opportunity to use our school ipad for the first time. We are, apparently, getting a set of ten ‘soon’, so we were trialling it to see which apps we liked and which were missing.

I already have a pupil who uses an ipad to communicate, he uses a programme called Grid Player (suggested by @jwinchester25 on twitter). I wanted to see what the rest could do.

My pupils function between p6-L2. First they found the camera, then the found Angry Birds. That was interesting, they could see where the birds needed to get to, but not all could see that they had to pull back the slingshot.and were trying to move the birds instead.

We tried a colour matching with dominoes app that worked quite well, and the number and letter formation one was great. Matching shapes was good, but the naming shapes we have at the moment was a bit too simple for most of my pupils.

I think, given time, it will become a valuable tool in the classroom, for differentiation or reward. I just need time to learn to use it as my tablet of choice is a Galaxy!

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

